3 Important Weight Loss Tips

So for the last month and a half I have been off the wagon a bit.  Although we had lots of birthdays and events in my family this is no excuse to slack off when you have as much weight as I do to lose.  This week I got back on track.  This was my first time being lazy about my eating since I started this whole foods, clean eating grain-free (as often as possible) lifestyle but I suspect it won’t be my last as I continue my journey.  Here’s what I did to get back on track and I’m happy to say that I am 2 lbs away from 40 lbs lost and then I plan on really going for it to lose the rest.

1. FOOD JOURNALING

This one cannot be emphasized enough.  Food journaling is vitally important to actually losing weight. No matter what food lifestyle you choose, if you don’t look at what you are doing, you won’t be as successful.  The old saying, “things measured, improved” is true. At least in my experience.  Here’s a scientific study on food journaling and how it doubles your weight loss in most cases.

2. TALK ABOUT IT

Another thing that I have found to be crucial in long term weight loss, is talking about it. If you don’t have people in your life that are doing what you are doing, consider writing blogs or starting a weight loss group on Facebook.  I have done all three and can tell you from experience that the openness has made me more accountable for my weight loss. More people want to see you succeed than you would believe and just being so open and honest really can inspire someone else to take their health more seriously too.  I urge you to open yourself up and start sharing what you are going through.  It is very therapeutic and I highly recommend it.

3.PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR BODY

Chances are if it upsets your stomach, gives you gas, pimples, affects your sleep and so on, it’s not working for your body.  I don’t care how much you love cheese, or bread, if you get diarrhea, gas, bloating, constipation or anything irregular 20-30 minutes after eating it, it’s hurting your body! Continually poisoning your body can lead to serious health problems like inflammation, diabetes, heart disease and a myriad of other diseases and problems. The object here isn’t just to lose weight to look better, it’s to get healthier and eating things that make you spend your days in the bathroom certainly are not what you want.  There are so many more healthy and delicious options than what the American people are accustomed to.  Learn about food, have fun with it. Get to know your body.

 

It’s not the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

