The 7 Foods I Eat Every Day and I’m Smaller For It

kişisel resim Ελληνικά: κηρήθρα

kişisel resim Ελληνικά: κηρήθρα (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

There is no real fast fix for major weight loss. That’s just the way it is. It took me 25 years to put so much fat on my body I could hardly walk.  The truth is that it will take time, probably a couple years for me to lose all of my excess weight.  I’m fine with that because even though it is small amounts, waking up every day a little smaller than I was before is such an incredible feeling and I know I will be able to keep it off due to the slow rate.  Although I have fought and clawed for every single pound of weight loss I have achieved, I have noticed some foods (in addition to avoiding processed foods) that are showing up regularly in my diet  I’m pretty sure they are helping.

 

1. HONEY

 

Raw, local, regular, whatever, any kind of honey I buy seems to be helping. I barely measure it too.  I measure the honey I put in my tea, but the honey on my sweet potato for instance, I just pour until it looks right to me 🙂 Check out this site for more info on the amazing benefits of honey and even how they claim you can lose weight in your sleep by eating honey at night! I hope it’s true!

2. GOAT CHEESE

I LOVE goat cheese and yogurt.  I could have never dreamed that finding out I was allergic to casein would be such good news for me. An excuse to eat ONLY goat cheese! No problem! I use crumbled, soft chevre, goat cheddar and goat mozzarella.  So do my husband and kids. Turns out it’s actually good for you too.  Check this article for more info on the health benefits of goat cheeses.

3. RAW SPINACH

I buy Organic Girl Baby Spinach in bulk at BJ’s. and we use two giant containers of it a week.  It is used for salads, smoothies and cooking. Spinach is one of the most vitamin and nutrient-rich foods you can eat, look at this article! Happy dance!!!

4. AGED BALSAMIC VINEGAR

When I started eliminating processed foods from our diet, I found out that even salad dressings had tons of processed and chemical ingredients. I was the kind of girl that couldn’t eat a vegetable unless it was drowned in ranch dressing!  This made salads a very boring and sad food choice for me.  Until I discovered the joy of a good organic aged balsamic vinegar and equally quality olive oil!  I make my own balsamic dressing that is just 50/50 vinegar and olive oil each week and put it into a squirt bottle and keep it on hand for salads and marinades all week. I love the stuff! Check out this article about olive oil benefits and this one on balsamic vinegar.

5. ONIONS

I buy tons of onions. Whatever is on sale for $1.99/bag comes home with me. We eat them every single day. I put them in so much.  Turns out they are great for you too! Not only are they good for you, but they make almost every food taste better.  Okay, I wouldn’t add them to dessert or a smoothie!

6. FRUIT

I have heard lots of people say eat fruit, but be careful not to eat too much.  Hoopla I say! I eat at least 3 servings of fruit a day in addition to vegetables.  They are an absolute staple in my home and without them I’d have very unhappy kids!  Here’s a great article from Harvard on the subject.

7. WATER

No brainer on this one.  Check out this Web MD article on why it’s so good for you.

 

I have lost 32 lbs since December 5, 2012.  I’m happier and healthier.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The 7 Foods I Eat Every Day and I’m Smaller For It

  1. So many dieters are afraid of eating honey and fruits. Yet, when I was at my skinniest, I ate tons of fruit and went though a jar of honey a week! I believe that there is absolutely no need to be scared of most natural, unprocessed foods, no matter what the label says about their carbs or sugar content.

  2. When I was waitressing, I once had a woman scoff at me when I asked if she wanted a lemon with her club soda. She was disgusted by the thought of ingesting the sugar in the lemon. Ha! What about the fiber and vitamins fruit can offer? I love this list. You’ve made me hungry for goat cheese. 🙂

Leave a Reply

