Secret to my weight loss success, berry smoothie

A couple of days ago I posted about not losing any weight in the last three weeks. My weight loss had stalled out completely. Thankfully, I had been tracking my food in the My Net Diary app on my phone and I would be able to figure out what I was doing wrong.  Just as I had hoped, it worked!

What I discovered was that I had been eating a grain every single day for about three weeks. Before that (when I was losing) I would go at least two days with no grain and then on the third or fourth day I would have one grain (to keep from developing carb flu) that day and then back to no grains for a few days.   See, I’m not supposed to eat gluten and a myriad of other grainy foods due to allergies.  In addition, during that time of great weight loss, I was consuming one protein mixed berry smoothie everyday for breakfast. Much to my surprise blackberries are excellent for weight loss, check out this article by Discovery Health on the subject.

The other great thing about what I discovered is that I was actually consuming a bit more calories during that “time of great weight loss” than I was recently. It was only about 200 calories more, but still, it was more.  For the last three days, I have followed what worked before without missing a beat and I have lost that pesky 6 lbs and am finally at my lowest weight yet! I have 2 lbs to go to get to 30 lbs lost…I expect to be there this week!

Here’s my simple smoothie recipe. Add whatever you want to it, it tastes great! Drinking mine now 🙂

Berry Smoothie Recipe

7 Large Strawberries

1/4-1/2 C Blackberries

1/2 C Almond Milk

1/2 C Ice

1 Scoop Whey Protein

Image

Put in blender and mix.

Image

 Drink!

Leave a Reply

