Simple, Fun and Healthy Recipes!

SO GOOD!

Paleo’ish Lasagna

Since I started eating cleaner which has been a couple months now I have tried a lot of recipes.  Today I will discuss 3 of them.  Two I threw together and one I got from another website.  All three of these recipes are so good I simply had to blog about it!

Paleo’ish Lasagna~

Ingredients:

4-5 Zucchini (depending on size)

16 oz Organic ground beef (optional)

16 oz marinara (I make my own, but any kind in a jar will work too)

4 oz Soft goat cheese

4 oz Cream cheese  (Or nix the cream cheese and use 8 oz soft goat cheese)

2 oz Goat cheddar

2 TBSP Olive oil

1 whole onion diced

1-2 cloves garlic minced

2 cups Raw Organic Spinach (More if you love spinach)

1 TSP Italian Spices

Sea Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Slice zucchini’s lengthwise into 1/8″ slices or so.  Saute all the zucchini in a little bit of olive oil over medium heat.  Transfer to a plate and set aside.

Add a tad bit more olive oil and saute garlic and onion.  Once garlic and onion begin to become translucent, add the spinach and put a lid on the pan.  After about 3 minutes stir spinach mixture.  It should be wilted and be almost cooked. Remove this mixture from the heat and mix with it the soft goat cheese and cream cheese, salt and pepper to taste. Set the cheese mixture aside.

To the saute pan, add the organic ground beef and cook until browned.  Drain and set aside.

If you have a smaller 8×8 pan your lasagna will be nice and tall.  If you do not, like I didn’t you will have a shorter lasagna ( I could personally care less as this does not affect taste).  Begin by ladling in a small amount of sauce.  Create single layer of zucchini slices. Spread on evenly some of the cheese/spinach mixture.  Add some beef and more sauce and then the next layer of zucchini slices. Repeat until you finish with sauce.  Shred goat cheddar on top and bake for 20-30 minutes.

Remove from oven.  Cool for 20 minutes or so and slice into 8 pieces and DIG IN!  My children love this lasagna so much that they eat 2 servings each!

Also on the plate pictured above-

Strawberry, Goat cheese and Pecan Salad

Strawberry, Goat Cheese and Pecan Salad

Strawberry, Goat Cheese and Pecan Salad

4 C Raw Organic Spinach

12 sliced strawberries

2 oz crumbled goat cheese

28 or so Pecan halves

1/4 C Good Balsamic Vinegar

1/4 C Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Throw spinach, strawberries, goat cheese and pecan halves in a large salad bowl.  Mix together the balsamic and olive oil.  Pour onto the salad and toss.  Serve.

THE BEST BROWNIES I HAVE EVER HAD 

In my search for delicious paleo’ish recipes I came upon a recipe that is truly heaven-sent!  I had an abundance of zucchini and I just knew there had to be some sort of chocolate paleo cake or brownie recipe out there.  I wanted something grain free, refined sugar free, dairy free,  soy free and  peanut free.  The brownies I found met all of my criteria and heck they can even be egg free if you use flax instead. I found this recipe for Paleo Zucchini Brownies on a blog entitled “Redeeming The Table”.  Kamille, the creator of this little taste of heaven is nothing short of a dessert genius.  I followed her recipe almost exactly and the results I got were simply out of this world!  I used 1/2 C Almond Butter (I make my own) and didn’t use any additional walnuts in the recipe.  The result was a fudgy, gooey and rich brownie. These are the best brownies I have ever had in my life.  It’s the brownie I’ve always dreamed of.  Vegetable based baked dessert goodness.  They really taste like a traditional baked brownie.  I also make them in a cupcake pan and then I get 12 perfectly portioned brownies.  From now on I will make these weekly.  My husband and children completely lost their minds when they tasted these! They could not believe they were made with real whole ingredients and had absolutely no grain in them.  I Insist that you go to her site and try this recipe.  It will knock your socks off!

Baked in muffin tins, the recipe makes 12.

Baked in muffin tins, the recipe makes 12.

2 thoughts on “Simple, Fun and Healthy Recipes!

Leave a Reply

